thisrawsomelife.blogg.se

“Your body is a temple, but only if you treat it as one.” ~Astrid Alauda

Two minute trick to boost your confidence

Publicerad 2014-02-25 22:32:00 i Self-development,


"If you hear a voice within you say "you cannot paint," then by all means paint, and that voice will be silenced". 

~Vincent Van Gogh

 

                                        
                                      Copyright: Jennie Renström. May not be used without authorization
 
 

Sometimes you just need a quick fix! I think everyone at times, need a little boost in self-confidence. I definitely do from time to time and so I always try to find new ways of improving and continue feeling really good about myself, every day.

According to Amy Cuddy (an American social psychologist) our body language actually affects our feelings and also our mind when it comes to performance. She makes links between the animal kingdom and dominance and human dominance and poses. Cuddy suggests what she calls “power poses”, that can be used a few minutes in privacy to increase performance.

1.       Simply smile, it affects our emotions and mind too and we automatically feel happier.

2.       - Stand like wonder woman, it’s a strong powerful pose.

3.       - Or the CEO pose: put your hands behind your head and put up your feet on the desk and smile. 

4.       Put your hands up in the air, spread your legs a little, like a star, like you just won the gold medal in marathon, and feel empowered!

Basically, Power poses decrease the stress hormone cortisol and increase the dominance hormone testosterone. She also refers to tests of people who have been practicing these power poses have shown to succeed better in landing a job etc.

Before an interview, a presentation or an important meeting:

1.      Prepare in advance even for a few minutes, you might want some privacy, go to the bathroom and strike a powerful pose. Walk around, use the space that is around you to boost yourself.

2.      Go in to the interview room and be as big as you are comfortable with. Not weak, not super dominant. Be comfortable but take up space! It’s yours. 

       

       Worth trying I think!

 

Link to full inspiring ted talk: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=phcDQ0H_LnYsel

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här
Publiceras ej

Om

Min profilbild

Jennie

Welcome to my blog! I am a Raw food & a plant based diet enthusiast from Sweden, living in Copenhagen. I grew up partly on only eating raw food, having parents that were way ahead in the 80s. I mainly eat a plant-based diet because I want to nourish my body, have clarity in my mind, my soul and my heart. I'm into the pureness of whole foods, health and positive living. I believe the best thing you can do for yourself is to listen to your own body and eat what makes you feel good and happy. My personal approach to vegetarian and raw food is to keep it simple! Back to basics. In this blog I share information and tips for inspiration on physical, mental and emotional health.

Till bloggens startsida

Kategorier

Arkiv

Prenumerera och dela