thisrawsomelife.blogg.se

“Your body is a temple, but only if you treat it as one.” ~Astrid Alauda

What is science without compassion?

Publicerad 2014-02-25 08:00:00 i Health science,

"Our generation's issue is food. We know there's a problem. There is no doubt whatsoever unhealthy food choices contribute to heart disease, cancer, not to mention backbreaking costs of healthcare and all kinds of personal tragedy. We are at this fork in the road. And the question is: shall we change course or not?"
 
- Neil Barnard
 
 
 
                                  
 
 
 
My darling younger sister who is currently studying to become a nurse at the Red Cross University in Stockholm, recently told me about this newly founded Swedish organization called 'Läkare för framtiden' or  'Doctors for the Future'. The organization was founded by a group of Swedish doctors and the main initiatior behind the organization is David Stenholtz (himself an M.D in oncology). Ofcourse I immediately became interested. Just the name in itself sparked my curiosity. The role model for the Swedish initiative is the American organization PCRM, the Physicians Committee for Responsible Medicine, with headquarters in Washington DC. Intreaged by this, I immediately went to the main organizations website in the U.S, I was overjoyed about their ethics and values and what drives them forward in science:
 
PCRM, the Physicians Committee for Responsible Medicinewas founded in 1985 by the physician Neal Barnard - who is still president - and currently has about 150 000 members, of which about 11 000 doctors.
 
PCRM promotes preventive medicine through innovative programs and has led the way for reforms of federal nutrition policies. The clinical research programs are breaking new ground in diabetes, cancer, and other serious conditions.
 
The PCRM oppose unethical human experiments. While great strides have been made in eliminating such experiments, problems remain. For example, children are still given synthetic growth hormone in experiments to make them taller, and both children and adults are exposed to unnecessary new drugs which have toxic effects.
 
The organization also promotes alternatives to animal research and animal testing and have worked to put a stop to gruesome experiments, such as the military’s cat-shooting studies, DEA narcotics experiments, and monkey self-mutilation projects. They also promote non-animal methods in medical education. Currently, more than three-quarters of all U.S. medical schools have dropped their animal labs for medical students.
 
I am so happy to share this knowledge with you because it is such a great source of information when it comes to nutrition, prevention of disease and health. I strongly believe that this is what science should be at present, and I am so happy some people feel the same.
And yey for the Swedish newly started organization, Go go go!!!
 
Check it out:
 
Sources:
 
http://www.pcrm.org/
 
http://www.pcrm.org/about/about/about-pcrm (11 minute video about what the PCRM do)
 
http://www.lakartidningen.se/Aktuellt/Nyheter/2013/10/Lakare-bildar-forening-for-kost-och-halsa/ (Swedish Doctors for the future)
 

Kommentarer

Postat av: Josephine

Publicerad 2014-02-25 23:34:27

Yeaay!!!

Kommentera inlägget här
Publiceras ej

Om

Min profilbild

Jennie

Welcome to my blog! I am a Raw food & a plant based diet enthusiast from Sweden, living in Copenhagen. I grew up partly on only eating raw food, having parents that were way ahead in the 80s. I mainly eat a plant-based diet because I want to nourish my body, have clarity in my mind, my soul and my heart. I'm into the pureness of whole foods, health and positive living. I believe the best thing you can do for yourself is to listen to your own body and eat what makes you feel good and happy. My personal approach to vegetarian and raw food is to keep it simple! Back to basics. In this blog I share information and tips for inspiration on physical, mental and emotional health.

Till bloggens startsida

Kategorier

Arkiv

Prenumerera och dela